The most glorious Srimati Lalita Devi appearance day fall in the month of Bhadrpada, the auspicious Shukla pakshash ashtitithi, which falls two days before Radhashtami, is the appearance day of foremost of all the dearest friend and direct expansion of Srimati Radharani, namely Srimati Lalita Devi. 

Significance Of Srimati Lalita Devi.

Lalita-Devi was born in the village of Kerala, but she moved to Uchagaon with her father. She is also famous as her another name Anuradha which means the one who always follows Radha, and was an expert in dressing Srimati Radharani, arranging her meetings with Vamsidhari Krishna and She has a special service of wiping out the droplets of perspiration that appears in the intimate pastimes of Srimati Radha and Krishna. Sri Sri Radha and Krishna were the life and soul of Srimati Lalita Devi. She is the leader, controller, and the best of the eight most exalted gopis. Lalita-Devi expertly teaches her friend Radha the art of jealousy-anger. Lalita is the Siksa-Guru of all the Gopis.

Features Of Srimati Lalita Devi

Lalita Devi complexion was Golden Yellow and her garments were like the color of Peacock feathers. Millions of moon’s beauty failed in front of Srimati Lalita Devi Beauty. Her eyes were very enchanting and always finding an opportunity to see Radha and Krishna Leela. She was an expert in applying make-up, and especially in dressing Srimati Radharani’s hair.

There are two types of services in Madhurya-Rasa.

  1.  One is in the mood of the manjaris 
  2.  Other in the mood of the sakhis.

 Srimati Lalita Devi served always in the mood of a Sakhi.

Lalita Devi Major Role.

Rupa Manjari in Goloka Vrindavan Dham, this was the principal Manjari which was serving under Srimati Lalita Devi, and it is Srimati Lalita Devi who brings the qualified jivas to the lotus feet of Srimati Radharani and engages them in her service, therefore Srila Rupa Goswami has composed Sri Lalitha Ashtakam glorifying her auspicious qualities and for this, he called us Rupanuga Vaishnavas. The sadhakas, after attaining their transcendental Swarup as manjaris and after learning how to serve the divine youthful couple in various ways from their guru Sakhi and Srila Rupa Manjari, trained under the guidance of Srimati Lalita Devi, after which she takes them to the lotus feet of Srimati Radharani and engages them in her service.

There are four types of sakhis: svapaksa, vipaksa, tatastha and suhrt. 

  1. Svapaksa – these are the Gopis who are fully favorably disposed towards Srimati Radharani. 
  2. Vipaksa – these are the Gopis who are fully favorably disposed towards Candravali and opposed to Srimati Radharani. 
  3. Tatastha – these are the Gopis who are neutral towards Srimati Radharani and more favorably disposed towards Candravali. 
  4. Suhrt– these are the Gopis who are more favorably disposed towards Srimati Radharani and neutral towards Candravali. Suhrt Gopis never do anything unfavorable towards Srimati Radharani.

To Attain Mercy Of Srimati Lalita Devi

We pray to Lalita Devi on this auspicious day to shower her merciful blessings on us so that we continue to engage ourselves in the service of Sri Sri Radha and Krishna and make our human life successful. Srimati Lalita-Devi is the wish-fulfilling tree of the Prema-Seva which is the service in love of Sri Sri Radha and Krsna. Chanting Lalitastakam not only please Lalita devi but also can please Radha and Krishna, which help us to attain Spiritual Bliss. Pray to Krishna always is our first response in every situation to attain mercy. Prayers are the main ingredients in Krishna consciousness which helps to bloom your Bhakti or Spiritual Consciousness. 

Srimati Lalita Devi Ki Jai

Sri Sri Rukmani Dwarkadhish Ki Jai

Shobha Radhika Devi Dasi

(ISKCON-Dwarka New Delhi)